Cafe Enzo, Hunter Valley

During our recent visit to the Hunter Valley, Lex and I found ourselves on a mission to find the best food in Wine Country. We had some fairly good meals but nothing to brag abut. All that changed when we took a visit to Enzo’s- a cosy dining spot with a courtyard, offering Italian dishes cooked with locally sourced produce. It is set amongst a few beautiful sandstone cottages, and has a distinct Hunter vibe to it. Booking a table wasn’t easy though so I do recommend calling in advance if you’re keen to visit.

Enzo is set in a Tuscan inspired village, among eclectic sandstone buildings in the heart of the hunter valley. Enzo is praised for its unique ambience and enchanting courtyard.Come and unwind and let the world drift away at the sacred oasis , known to locals as Enzo. Listen to chic tunes whilst feasting on Italian delicacies with homemade and locally grown produce. With our antique open fireplace dating back to the 1700s making you warm in the winter and total air conditioned comfort for those hot summer days. Established since 1996 offers excellent coffee, food and service making it a must do when visiting the Hunter Valley.

We went for lunch and were spoilt with choice by the varied but thoughtful menu. Every dish seemed to work with the other and for once I honestly couldn’t decide what I wanted. All I knew was that I needed something hot (it was freeeeeezing outside), and something big! I figured we’d be spending the day wine tasting so I need to do it on a full stomach.

I ordered the Tiger Prawn Linguine and a freshly squeezed watermelon and passionfruit juice. The juice was served in a little jar, with an old ‘Little Golden Book Classic’ as the saucer. It just so happened to be titled “The Shy Little Kitten”. Knowing how much I love cats, I simply couldn’t resist reading it to Lex using my best teacher voice. He was so embarrassed…

The Tiger Prawn  Linguine was delicious, complete with fresh chilli, baby tomatoes, chorizo, lemon butter sauce, and a generous topping of shaved parmesan- have a drool at the pics below 🙂

Lis x

P.S Have I mentioned that I’m collecting business cards of restaurants Lex and I go to? I’m going to turn them in to an artwork – stay tuned!

 

5 thoughts on “Cafe Enzo, Hunter Valley

  1. Paul says:

    Thanks for the recommendation for Café Enzo. I haven’t come across this place previously, but will definitely give it a try when I am next in the Hunter Valley with my beautiful wife!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment