The Italian Kitchen, Sydney

I visited ‘The Italian Kitchen’ in Miranda with family after coming home from NY. Mum and I were wandering around the new dining precinct at Westfield’s Miranda having no idea what we should eat. It was lunch time so we thought something light and healthy might be a good idea. All that changed when we laid eyes on ‘The Italian Kitchen’. It was a beautifully presented airy restaurant, with hints of timeless Italian decor (such as the serving plates!). It is also opened for lunch and dinner 7 days a week, with takeaway now available! As we sat down for lunch after some intense shopping, we were in awe of the surroundings. They really have made this friendly on the eye. The restaurant was also buzzing and had a great, happy energy about it.

What we ordered:

I caught a glimpse of the bruschetta passing by our table and told my Mum and cousin that we were getting a serving, no excuses! To our delight the bruschetta was absolutely delicious. It was almost as if they had bought their tomatoes from Italy – they were full of flavour and they were all over the plate so you could scoop up a few extra spoonfuls! Unfortunately our mains were underwhelming. Mum and I chose the Ravioli which was stuffed with four cheeses, spinach and parmesan, with fresh basil on the top. It wasn’t the worst Ravioli I’ve ever had, but it was just a little bland and unexciting. After the bruschetta I think we had such high hopes for the mains and they didn’t eventuate. My cousin chose the Gnocchi with pumpkin, sage, parmesan and amaretti. I was actually going to order the gnocchi but changed my mind at the last minute. My cousin was underwhelmed also. She was a little bored with the dish and said the pumpkin flavours were not strong enough.

With all that said though, ‘The Italian Kitchen’ is a fun and casual place for a meal and great for groups. Would I go back? Probably not. In saying that though I would love to go to more restaurants with such beautiful decor and friendly vibes.

Lis x

8 thoughts on “The Italian Kitchen, Sydney

  1. aubrey says:

    Maybe it’s odd, but though being 1/2 Italian, I never quite liked pasta. Little portions which make one too full – I’ll pass. That bruschetta, now, looks rather fabulous. (and when my father makes spaghetti with sausage and meatballs, I will happily divest it of all of that divine meatiness and leave the pasta behind!)

    Like

  2. Lena says:

    So stylish! Love your outfit head to toe!! ;))I have just found your blog and I like it! What do you think about following each other? I have already liked you blog on FB! :))oAxxontonia

    Like

Leave a comment