Valentine’s Day Dinner

I’ve found that Valentine’s Day divides most people. Some call it a ‘Hallmark Holiday’ and others will take any opportunity they can for a bit of romance. I fall into the latter category. I LOVE Valentine’s Day and with the holiday approaching (this weekend!), I thought I’d come up with a list of restaurants in Sydney you can take your special someone to. Lex and I are trying out a restaurant we’ve never been to before in Surry Hills – here’s hoping the gamble pays off! Yelp have just released their Top 100 places in Australia to eat for 2016 so some of the suggestions below are from that list, although I found I wasn’t overly impressed with the list so I’ve added in some of my own 🙂 Let me know what your plans for the big day are in the comments 🙂

  • Din Tai Fung – Two words: Asian dumplings
  • Mary’s – Craft beer and burgers in a rustic bar with timber decor, a mezzanine and a rock ‘n’ roll vibe – perfect for that couple who only just started dating but feel obliged to celebrate Valentine’s Day
  • The Governors Table – Sleek eatery with cosy banquettes, serving gourmet bar bites and creative Modern Australian mains
  • Via Napoli – Has won an award for best pizza in Sydney!
  • Glasshouse Brasserie – Upscale Modern Australian menu by chef Luke Mangan, served in a grand dining space – a sure way to impress your Valentine!
  • Quay – Innovative Modern Australian menu in a chic room overlooking the Opera House. If location is important then Quay is a must
  • Sud – Southern Italian street food turned out in a cool, industrial-chic diner with a scooter wall mural
  • Rockpool – Fine Modern Australian cuisine with decor that screams elegance
  • The Bridge Room – Set in a cool 1930s building with an open kitchen
  • Aria restaurant – Aussies love chef Matt Moran and his glass-walled establishment will be a winner with your love
  • Tetsuya’s – French-Asian cuisine, interesting!
  • Cafe Sydney – A rooftop restaurant with sweeping views of our beautiful Sydney
  • Est. – Take your Valentine to the closest place to the city of love as possible in Sydney. Est. is an upscale French fusion restaurant by renowned chef Peter Doyle

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Lis x

P.S these restaurants are totally perfect to go on non-dates as well. Celebrate you! 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Dinner

    • greenwichlane says:

      I agree – I hate all the set menu stuff. We’re lucky this year because Valentines Day falls on a Sunday and Lex and I are going out for dinner on the Saturday night and many Sydney restaurants are leaving their menus as is because it’s not technically Valentinea Day!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. roweeee says:

    Before we had kids, I was the Valentine’s Day Queen….particularly when I was single. Now, I think we’ll be lucky to have takeaway from our local Thai restaurant. I also prefer something more rustic like having fish & chips on a pier or on the beach. For this, I highly recommend Palm Beach Fish & Chips. You can also go for a romantic ferry ride from Palm Beach to Ettalong nad return…better than the Mediterranean! Here’s a few pics:https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/03/17/catching-the-palm-beach-ferry-the-perfect-antedote-for-a-rough-week/
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

      • roweeee says:

        You’re welcome. I pretty much consider myself a Palm Beach local. My family has had weekenders over there and there’s still the boat. There are a few downsides though in terms of transport and amenities but otherwise stunning.

        Liked by 1 person

      • greenwichlane says:

        That’s the only thing that stops me going more often – it’s a bit of a mission to get there, but it’s stunning. It would be great to have a weekender there. My parents have one up in Nelson Bay and I love it up there too 🙂

        Like

  2. Bipasha says:

    You know what, my husband and I dined at Cafe Sydney on our first anniversary 😍 You are right about their amazing view. We have such good memories from that time in Sydney!

    Like

  3. chattykerry says:

    Thank you for following my blog. I never go out restaurants on Valentine’s Day because it gets crazy here in Houston but usually cook something for my sweetie. Otherwise, I love eating out at fave restaurants.

    Like

Leave a comment